Skip to content

Fluxbell Revival at Flux Factory August 1 – 17, 2014


After a period of dormancy, the Fluxbell has been resuscitated for the Flux Factory 20th Anniversary exhibition Homecoming. The doorbell was originally created for the inaugural exhibition (House Broken) for Flux factory 29th street Long island City location


Homecoming Exhibition Dates: August 1 – 17, 2014
Opening night: August 1, 6-9pm
Banquet: August 2, 7pm  Tickets Available Here

In celebration of Flux Factory’s 20th anniversary, we’re opening our doors for Homecoming, an epic extravaganza. We’ll excavate the layers of artworks, inventions, and aesthetic mishaps that fill our labyrinthine building. We’ll reveal 20 years of archives, from the Kissing Booth Secret Tapes, to the long lost holographic family portrait. And of course, we’re adding to our stacks with commissions of new works by Fluxers near and far.

On August 1st, 1994, an idealistic philosophy student named Morgan Meis, fed up with the dorm life style, released Huckleberry, an unemployed tabby, on the empty top floor of a Williamsburg warehouse. According to lore, the feline made a beeline for the far corner of the room, took care of some personal business and everyone in attendance took it as an omen that the search for their Brooklyn promised land was over.

Flux Factory was born.

After two evictions, a move to Queens, hundreds of residents, a long overdue no-pet-policy, one shipwreck, two shantytowns, decades of beauty, wonderment, making the impossible happen, and only one stabbing, Flux is turning 20 and we want you to celebrate with us. Expect time capsules, a Going Places Doing Stuff revival (in three acts), weather patterns, the entirety of Public Broad Fluxing, a new and improved kinetic sound sculpture door bell, and a few carte-blanches. Expect to get lost on Fluxiness. In other words, expect wonders.

New commissioned works by (but certainly not limited to): Alex Wolkowicz, Angela Washko, Annie Reichert, Ayden Grout, Ben Seretan, Caitlin Foley, Daupo, Douglas Paulson, Ellen Kleckner, Jacobus Capone, Jaime Iglehart, John Roach, Jonah Levy, Julius Schmiedel & Nick Normal, Lena Hawkins, Misha Rabinovich, Nick Cregor, SP Weather Station, Stephanie Avery, and Wieteke Heldens.

Organized by: Jean Barberis, Aliya Bonar, Jason “Phunquey” Brown, Jason Eppink, Shona Masarin, Georgia Muenster, Douglas Paulson, Sam Perry, Nat Roe, and Christina Vassallo.

Back To Top